Call to Schedule a Free Consultation


Are You Dealing with a Second DUI?

 Posted on September 22, 2023 in DUI

IL DUI lawyerThings can get more serious if you find yourself facing a second DUI charge. It is important to have a dedicated Illinois attorney fighting for your rights to prevent a conviction and the suspension of your driver's license. Remember, repeat DUI offenses in Illinois mean tougher penalties, so it is vital to stay away from the wheel if you have been drinking or using substances that interfere with your driving skills.

Can I Dodge the Consequences of a DUI?

Under Illinois law, a person with a blood alcohol concentration of .08 percent or more cannot legally drive. However, mistakes are sometimes made during a field sobriety test. These tests are conducted by a police officer, and human error is always possible. On top of that, if they do not follow the right steps, they could leave the door open for mistakes. A skilled attorney will make sure to conduct a deep investigation into your case to ensure that your rights are protected.

Will My Driver’s License be suspended for a Second DUI?

If you find yourself facing DUI charges and take no action, your driver's license will be suspended within 45 days of your arrest. However, if this is your second DUI arrest, your license will be automatically suspended for a minimum of one year.

If you are ultimately convicted of the offense, your driver's license will be revoked, and you will not be eligible to apply for reinstatement for at least a year. There is a possibility to request a restricted driving permit for up to five years, which can be used for essential activities like attending school, going to work, or visiting the doctor. For individuals with a second or subsequent DUI conviction within a 20- period, their driver's license will face a suspension of five years.

What are the Penalties for a Second DUI?

While initial DUI offenses are typically categorized as misdemeanors, there are situations where this offense can escalate to a felony. In most cases, a second DUI conviction is considered a class A misdemeanor and comes with the following consequences if you are found guilty:

  • A fine that can reach as high as $2,500
  • Mandatory five days in jail or 240 hours of community service
  • A potential jail term of up to 364 days
  • Suspension of your vehicle registration
  • Alcohol treatment program participation required
  • Attendance at a victim impact panel

Schedule a free consultation with a DuPage County Drug Crimes Lawyer

If you are facing two or multiple DUI charges, you need a Wheaton, IL criminal defense attorney with more than three decades of legal experience to help you with a strong defense. Call 630-260-9647 for a free consultation. Stephen A. Brundage, will assess the circumstances of your arrest and guide you through the process.


Share this post:
Back to Top