Call to Schedule a Free Consultation


When Minors Are Convicted for Alcohol Offenses in Illinois

 Posted on June 13, 2024 in Underage Drinking

IL defense lawyerAmerica has a legal drinking age that is not decided by states. According to federal law, anyone who is 21 years old or older can legally consume alcohol and anyone younger than that cannot. When someone is caught drinking underage, they could face serious repercussions. If you are facing charges of a juvenile DUI, speak with an experienced DuPage County, IL criminal defense attorney who can review your case and offer you valuable guidance on how best to proceed.

Zero Tolerance in Illinois

The state of Illinois has set the legal blood alcohol content (BAC) at 0.08%. However, when it comes to underage drinking, the state has a zero-tolerance policy. That means that if anyone under the age of 21 is found with any amount of alcohol in their blood, even if it is much lower than the legal limit, the consequences can be very harsh. There are several scenarios that could be punished in specific ways, as follows:

  • If you are underage and found in possession of alcohol, you could be charged with a Class A misdemeanor and could have your license suspended for at least six years in addition to being handed fines to pay and possibly needing to serve a jail sentence. 
  • If you are caught driving while intoxicated, your driver’s license will likely be suspended for at least three months, and if you refuse to submit to the breathalyzer or any other BAC test, it will automatically be suspended for six months.
  • If you are underage and have a BAC over the legal limit of 0.08%, you could face criminal charges, have your license suspended for two years, need to serve up to a year in prison, and be fined up to $2,500.

The specific consequences you face might be even harsher depending on some other factors including whether there was a passenger under 16 years old in the car when you were pulled over for drunk driving, whether your BAC was 0.16 or more, whether this was your first offense, and more.

Schedule a Free Consultation with a DuPage County, IL Underage DWI Attorney

If you are underage and arrested for a DWI, the consequences you might face are too severe to ignore. Speak with a dedicated Wheaton, IL DUI lawyer. As a former police officer, I understand how these cases work from both sides of the court, and I can help you navigate the process as we work together to defend your rights. Call Stephen A. Brundage at 630-260-9647 to schedule a free consultation.

Share this post:
Back to Top