Call to Schedule a Free Consultation


What to Expect for a First-Time DUI

 Posted on February 03, 2023 in DUI

DuPage County DUI defense lawyerA DUI refers to the formal charge brought against an individual for driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs. In the state of Illinois, a first-time DUI is considered a misdemeanor and can lead to many weighty consequences. Many people assume that a first-time DUI conviction will result in fairly lenient penalties. While it is true that the more DUIs you have, the harsher the consequences, the penalties for a first-time DUI are still quite serious.

Possible Repercussions for a First-Time DUI

Criminal penalties for a first-time DUI conviction can differ depending on the factors that revolve around your drunk driving case. With the help of a DUI criminal defense attorney, there is the possibility that they can get your charges reduced or even dismissed. However, that is never a guarantee.

Here are some possible consequences for first-time offenders: 

  • Fines – For a first-time DUI in Illinois has a minimum fine of $500 and a maximum fine of $2,500 depending on the situation. This, however, does not include other factors including damage to property, any injuries caused, increases in insurance premiums, and court costs.
  • Jail – Jail time is possible, even for first-time offenders. For a first offense, it may only be one to two nights in jail, but under the law, up to one year jail is possible. However, depending on the factors of the DUI, you may be required to submit to court supervision, community service, and more.  
  • Probation – If you can avoid jail time, you will most likely be put on probation. Illinois courts requires that, while on probation, you cannot use drugs or alcohol or purchase a firearm. You must also check in regularly with a provided probation officer and are required to stay within the state. 
  • Drug and alcohol education program – After a DUI conviction, you could be required to complete a drug and alcohol education program. This program is used to help offenders realize the consequences of driving under the influence. Participants will be asked to speak on how drugs and alcohol have personally influenced their lives, with the hope that they can learn from their experiences as well as the experiences of others.
  • Suspension of driving privileges – For a first DUI, your driver’s license will be revoked for at least one year. In most cases, a first-time offender will qualify for relief programs that allow them to drive for work or school during the suspension, but you will still need to go through the process of having your license reinstated at the end of the revocation period.

Contact a Wheaton DUI Defense Lawyer 

If you have been charged with driving under the influence and if this is your first offense, it is important to speak with a lawyer who will protect your rights. Facing such charges on your own can be taxing and nearly impossible, but our team is prepared to advocate for you. Contact at experienced DuPage County DUI defense lawyer at Stephen A. Brundage for help. Call 630-260-9647 today for a free consultation. 




Share this post:
Back to Top