Subscribe to this list via RSS Blog posts tagged in DuPage County

Students have been back to school for a few months now, but sometimes it is difficult for drivers to remember that it is illegal to pass school buses in certain situations. The Illinois State Police are making efforts to remind drivers that penalties are associated with these behaviors and that police have been instructed to keep an eye out for violators. If you have been pulled over and charged with illegally passing a school bus, you should hire a criminal attorney to represent you as soon as possible.

The Illinois State Police have launched their Drive Home School Safety Zone messages across the state after numerous school bus drivers reported drivers violating the laws on a regular basis. Local police officers partnered with state law enforcement to patrol school areas during arrival and departure times to monitor activity and catch possible offenders.

If a school bus has stopped to load or unload children, drivers will know to stop because the stop signal arm at the side of the bus will be extended. It is illegal for drivers to pass a school bus during these times if they are headed in the same direction as the bus.

...

The Illinois Liquor Control Commission has used the high school football season as a launch site for a program targeting underage drinking. The program includes educational materials for Your Actions Matter, recognizing that fall sports events are a popular place for teens to be introduced to alcohol. Drinking underage or providing alcohol to minors can have serious consequences for your future, and if you’re been charged with either of these, you need the assistance of an underage drinking criminal attorney.

The program includes cooperation from school districts, law enforcement, parents, local elected officials, and other relevant community leaders to come together and raise awareness about adults who think it’s acceptable to provide alcohol to minors. Illinois law classifies this activity as a Class A misdemeanor with a minimum $500 fine and possible jail time.

The campaign is using posters, signs, window decals, and necktags to make the statement that preventing underage drinking is everyone's responsibility. Those individuals under the age of 21 who purchase alcohol for themselves or others face legal punishments in the form of revoked driving privileges. Examples include 3-month suspension of driving privileges for court supervision, 6 months for a first conviction, 1 year for a second conviction, and a revoked license for any additional convictions.

...